Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Every Wrong Reason by Rachel Higginson- Release Day Blitz and Review


Get it for Amazon Kindle ---> http://amzn.to/1JeG7rU 
Get it for Barnes & Noble ---> http://goo.gl/DiazHA
Get it for iBooks ---> https://goo.gl/fSZ4cW

First comes love. Then comes marriage. Then comes the... really nasty divorce. Kate Carter thought she married her soul mate. She thought she had her happily ever after. But seven years into Kate's marriage, she realizes that her husband Nick is not what she wanted. He's selfish, he's oblivious and he doesn't love her anymore. Maybe she doesn't love him anymore either. Divorce is the only option if either of them wants to find happiness. Kate and Nick thought they knew what they wanted, but neither is prepared for the heartache that separating will bring them. The journey they embark on is not the freedom they wished for, but a painful look at the people they've become. At the end of it, Kate has to decide if this is really the life she wants or if maybe there's a way to salvage her broken heart.

My Review

Every Wrong ReasonEvery Wrong Reason by Rachel Higginson
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Kate and Nick have been married for seven years. They are unhappy and are not the good versions of themselves when they interact with one another. They separate and Kate files for divorce. For the next year Kate tries to figure out how things are supposed to work when she can't seem to live with Nick or without him.

There are a lot of tough emotions to experience throughout this story. Kate and Nick are both obviously in pain and struggling with their separation, even though it was clear that things were not going well for them before they separated. Kate is an easy character to care about, although it was frustrating at times waiting for her to figure out how to sort our her feelings and learn to communicate with Nick. Nick was tough at times too. It was clear that he did not want the divorce, and was trying hard to correct some the things he thought he needed to change. One of my biggest frustrations was watching Kate and Nick struggle with expressing the way they felt in a way that the other could hear. I felt like they were stuck having the same argument over and over even though they both desperately wanted to move past it. This story did a good job of showing the real and complex feelings that can go along with a marriage and separation. I have enjoyed other books by this author and I will gladly read more by her in the future.

*An ARC was provided in exchange for an honest review

Looking for another contemporary romance from Rachel Higginson? Five Stages of Falling In Love is on SALE for 99¢!


Purchase on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1uDW62G
Purchase on iBooks: http://bit.ly/1L5c3DE
Purchase on B&N: http://bit.ly/1xLum7S
Purchase on Kobo: http://bit.ly/1upZf01

Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.
Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her? Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days. When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again. As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death.

About Rachel Higginson

Rachel Higginson is the creator of The Star-Crossed Series, Love & Decay Novella Series, The Starbright Series, The Siren Series, Bet on Us and the soon to be released, The Five Stages of Falling in Love! She is also the co-creator of the podcast "Zach & Rachel Take Over the World." She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days raising four amazing kids. In the few spare moments she has to herself, she is either reading for hours on end or writing her own stories.

No comments:

Post a Comment