Friday, June 27, 2014

Nowhere but Here by Renee Carlino- Promo and Review!

Nowhere But Here Cover

Title: Nowhere But Here
Author: Renée Carlino
Genre: Contemporary Romance

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47


About Nowhere But Here:
Nowhere But Here Cover

A Chicago reporter in her mid-twenties unexpectedly finds love in Napa Valley when she’s assigned to spend a week with a famously reclusive genius.
Kate Corbin has lost her spark. From the outside, her life seems charmed. She has a handsome, long-term boyfriend and a budding journalism career at a popular Chicago newspaper. But in reality, her relationship is going nowhere, and she’s quickly losing motivation for what she once believed was her dream job. When her boyfriend dumps her unceremoniously, Kate loses all hope of finding love.
With no living family and few friends, Kate confides in her boss. Trusting that the hungry, ace reporter is buried somewhere deep inside, he gives Kate the opportunity to jumpstart her career. The assignment: to interview the famously reclusive R.J. Lawson, a wealthy tech genius who disappeared years ago but recently reemerged as a Napa Valley vintner. The week takes an unexpected turn, however, when Lawson refuses to divulge any information. Desperate for a lead, Kate turns to Jamie, a vineyard hand who shows her the romance of wine country—and stirs her aching heart. But his connection to Lawson is ambiguous, and when Jamie disappears before the end of the week, Kate is left to investigate another story: the truth behind the man who stole her heart.
USA TODAY bestselling author Renée Carlino explored love and heartbreak in her beautifully written debut Sweet Thing, and her newest novel does not disappoint. For fans of Colleen Hoover, K.A. Tucker, and Katja Millay, Nowhere But Here is a stirring and satisfying romance that you won’t want to put down.

Amazon | iTunes | B&N

My Review: 

Nowhere but HereNowhere but Here by Renée Carlino
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kate Corbin has been living a half-life. She lost her mother at a young age, and in the last year lost the woman who stepped in for her mother after her passing. Kate feels alone in the wold. She has a "boyfriend" who she sees a couple times a week, usually in the laundry room at her apartment, and she has a couple of friends at the newspaper she writes for. She has been floating through life and has most definitely lost any "spark" she had in the past. Her boss sends her on an assignment across the country to interview a famous recluse who now runs a winery. Kate is reluctant, but knows that she needs to start engaging in her work and her life and it is encouraging that her boss continues to believe in her. The reclusive R.J, Lawson gives her almost no time and less information, but she connects with Jamie, a worker at the vineyard, who shows her all the wonderful things about the winery and its staff. Kate opens herself up to Jamie and is feeling a connection to him that is strong. He disappears at the end of the week and Kate is left to put together the pieces of the confusing week she just experienced.

There is a whole lot of charm going on here. Kate is an easy character to like and experience this story through. Witnessing her seeing and understanding the things that she wants in her life, but isn't able to find was tough, but encouraging as she worked to change that. It was rewarding to see her "spark" return and for her to engage in things that brought her pleasure and satisfaction. Jamie is nearly impossible not to like,as he was sexy, smart, good at pretty much everything. The way he treated Kate was pretty wonderful too. There weren't a ton of surprises in this book for me, but I enjoyed the journey with these characters. Also, I really want to visit this winery. For me, this was a charming, engaging story that I read straight through once I started. I have loved previous works by this author and will continue to read her books in the future.

*An ARC was provided in exchange for an honest review


To read an exclusive bonus short from Nowhere But Here, click the following link: Nowhere but Here bonus scene


About Renée Carlino:
renee carlinoRenee's first friends were the imaginary kind and even though her characters haven't gone away, thankfully the delusions have. She admits she's a wildly hopeless romantic and she blames 80's movies staring Molly Ringwald for that. She lives in Southern California with her husband, two sons, and their sweet dog June. When she's not at the beach with her boys or working on the next book, she likes to spend her time reading, going to concerts, and eating dark chocolate.
 
 

No comments:

Post a Comment